Fourth of July as an American Expat

There’s nothing like the Fourth of July to stir up a little homesickness. Yes America, I chose to leave you- but I still love you!

So what’s one of my favorite American holidays like when I’m no longer in America? Well.. for the most part just another day. Although there have been a lot of funerals around here lately….

While American’s shoot off fireworks to celebrate their freedom, Thai’s shoot off fireworks filled with their loved one’s ashes to celebrate life and death. And I watch and smile, and celebrate life and death, and celebrate my freedom- which I still have despite living in a developing nation- thanks to my American passport.

Untitled-3

And I reflect on how, despite all the issues I see with American culture, it’s a free country. And I’m lucky to be American. In America people have opportunity, democracy, and choice. Freedom of speech. What would happen if the U.S. government decided to block its citizens from viewing news channels on TV? It’s hard to imagine because it wouldn’t happen! But that’s exactly what happened here when the military took over power in May. Equality in the U.S. isn’t as equal as I think it should be, but it’s certainly a hell of a lot closer than many places in the world. Plus, I can travel freely-( check this out– maybe you’ve taken the power of your citizenship for granted.)

So even though I’ve become an expat and intend to stay an expat for an indefinite period of time, I’m still proud to be an American.

 

Be free, be thankful!

Peace and Love.

 

